Style Files: Making a Scripture Memory Board

31 Dec

Tomorrow marks the first day of 2012. A new year. A fresh start. Endless possibilities. I don’t know what this new year will bring, but I do know that I’m going to start it on the right foot. That’s why I’m joining Project Scripture.

In order to get started, though, I needed a scripture memory board. Using Mrs. Hargrave’s board as inspiration, I took a trip to Hobby Lobby yesterday to get my supplies. $8 and 5 minutes later, I had my memory board. Here’s how I did it:

Step 1: I needed a cute picture frame that could sit on my bathroom counter. I figured that was the best place to ensure that I would read it every day, and because I don’t have a TON of counter space, I chose to go with a smaller 5×7 frame. The frame I chose has an antique white finish with light pink filigree accents. It’s very feminine, but that’s exactly the look I wanted.

Step 2: I picked out a nice burlap fabric and purchased 1/8 yard (the smallest amount Hobby Lobby will let you purchase).

Step 3: Cut a piece of burlap to fit in the frame, then use the dry erase marker to write your verse each week.

If you’re interested in joining us, please do! I’ll keep you updated on my progress each week.

2 Responses to “Style Files: Making a Scripture Memory Board”

  1. Christi Foust January 3, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Love this idea! I was already going to head to Hobby Lobby after the little man wakes up to get some valentines craft projects but this project has now moved to number one! Thanks!
    PS: How do I put that “button” on my blog?

    • House to Home January 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Cool, Christi! I’m glad you’re going to join us. I’m not sure how it works with blogspot blogs, but for wordpress, I added an HTML widget to the sidebar and entered the following code:

      some text

Leave a Reply

