Mantel Makeover

2 Feb

Well, I’m in a decorating slump. Now that the Christmas decorations have been put away, the fireplace is looking forlorn. We finally got the TV set up downstairs (it will soon be mounted on the wall), and my mother got me these two beautiful candlesticks for Christmas. Other than that, I don’t know where to go fireplace decorations.

I’ve considered apothecary jars, garlands, a pot of sage or gold hydrangeas for the mantel. Then comes the base of the fireplace. I don’t even know where to start there.

So, I thought I’d ask you. What should I place on the mantel?

  • Apothecary jars with wine corks
  • A seasonal garland
  • Lanterns with candles
  • A stack of old books
  • Potted floral arrangements
7 Responses to “Mantel Makeover”

  1. Ryan February 2, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    I think any would look fantastic, but I’m pretty partial to the lanterns and apothecary jars with wine corks. 🙂

    • House to Home February 11, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      And your house would definitely be my inspiration!

  2. Ryan February 2, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    (Also, I left an award for you on my blog. :))

  3. Dad February 3, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    How about a nice floral arrangement that sits in front of or in the hearth?

    • House to Home February 11, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      I like that idea!

  4. Merry February 3, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Brittany–Your home is gorgeous!! And I’m sure whatever you do with your mantle will be beautiful!!

    • House to Home February 11, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      Thank you so much, Merry! You are so sweet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

